• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Mileage Rate Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mileage Rate Question

I've just been informed I will only be reimbursed 25p per mile for a couple of out of office journeys I made last week and wondering if this is permissible?

I am an office based contractor employed via an umbrella company and assumed 45p was a statutory minimum? These have been my only extra-curricular journeys so I'm obviously under the 10K limit.

Or is the rate payable subject to each companies own individual guidelines.

Thanks,
    Rod.

Originally posted by rod147 View Post
    I've just been informed I will only be reimbursed 25p per mile for a couple of out of office journeys I made last week and wondering if this is permissible?

I am an office based contractor employed via an umbrella company and assumed 45p was a statutory minimum? These have been my only extra-curricular journeys so I'm obviously under the 10K limit.

Thanks,
    Rod.
    You should check this with your brolly. There are no maximums or minimums that can be paid, but if you claim or are paid more than the HMRC standard rates then you end up be taxed on anything extra.

HMRC will allow 45p per mile for the first 10,000 miles in a financial year and 25p per mile thereafter tax free. Anything more than this gets taxed.

Edit : Just spotted this was in General.

<snip>.
    Last edited by NotAllThere; 21 March 2016, 10:39. Reason: Oy - don't go creating extra work!