• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by dx4100 View Post
    I just can't stomach the whole "team bonding" stuff and falseness of it all . If I ever went perm it would have to be somewhere that would just leave me be. No idea how I get that across at an interview and still land the job
    One job before I was a contractor we used to have a weekly team meeting. Each person used to have to take a turn at coming up with an "icebreaker". You know the thing - tell everyone two truths and a lie about yourself - or some similar cr@p.
    It was at a time in my life when I was absolutely crippled with anxiety about anything & everything & it used to consume my life from one week to the next just thinking about it. I think more than once I phoned in sick just to avoid doing it.
    It was a shame because I liked the job & I wanted nothing more than to do just that.
    If you don't have anything nice to say, say it sarcastically

Comment

Originally posted by KinooOrKinog View Post
      One job before I was a contractor we used to have a weekly team meeting. Each person used to have to take a turn at coming up with an "icebreaker". You know the thing - tell everyone two truths and a lie about yourself - or some similar cr@p.
      Just say

1. I really enjoy coming up with ice-breakers in team meetings
      2. I get really anxious about coming up with ice-breakers in team meetings