• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How do you get new contracts...?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you get new contracts...?

Hi. I'm new here so please be gentle with me!

I'm pretty new to contracting. Have had just one client for almost 2 years. (PM role) They kept me on after the initial project was finished, as they were pleased with my work, and moved me on to another project, which finished end of April. I took a break for a couple of weeks, and starting looking for new contracts mid May. I've put my CV on the main employment type sites (Monster, CW Jobs and the like) Have registered with Jobserve, and been applying for roles which look suitable. (Probably around a dozen to date.) Have had next to no responses though. Is it really quiet out there, or am I approaching this the wrong way?

Someone told me never to chase agencies, as they will contact you if they think you are suitable to be put forward for a role. They said if you keep calling agents, they will get irritated and just put you to the bottom of the pile, as they are in business, so will only want to talk with you if there is a chance they will make money from you.