• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting from Spain

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting from Spain

I'm giving serious consideration to selling up in the UK and moving full-time to our place in Spain. The objective is to reduce costs, work less, at least on other companies projects, and have a better quality of life.

My question is what would this new direction look like from a contracting perspective (I'm a developer), irrespective of whether I worked 100% remotely or jetted into London and contracted half-the year? Can I still do this through my UK Limited Company? Would it be better to set up a Spanish equivalent company? What does the tax situation look like? Are there other lucrative markets than the UK for overseas contractors?

I know I have significant work to do to research all of this but is there anybody out there who has done the same kind of thing and if so what are your findings?

I worked with a colleague a couple of years ago who worked Mon/Fri from Spain and flew over for the mid week days. He was an English resident and so UK tax situation was as per living in the UK.

Comment

if you spend >183 days in a country you will likely find out that you are personally tax resident in that country and therefore have to pay local taxes on personal income.