• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Travel Expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Travel Expenses

Hi, all

I am still fairly new to contracting so I hope this question is not too naive?

I have just signed a contract which is ready to start in 3 weeks and during the conversations with the recruitment consultants I did ask if my expenses will be met for travel from my house to the site. It is a round trip of 300 miles. I will stay there during the week and the hotel will be paid for.

Should I still push for the travel to be paid or is it normal that you pay your own costs getting to the client? The contract is vague on expenses.
    thanks

Originally posted by Sgpg View Post
    Hi, all

I am still fairly new to contracting so I hope this question is not too naive?

I have just signed a contract which is ready to start in 3 weeks and during the conversations with the recruitment consultants I did ask if my expenses will be met for travel from my house to the site. It is a round trip of 300 miles. I will stay there during the week and the hotel will be paid for.

Should I still push for the travel to be paid or is it normal that you pay your own costs getting to the client? The contract is vague on expenses.
    thanks
    It would be unusual for your client to meet your travel expenses, and would be explicitly spelt out if that was the intention. Unless your skillset is very niche, why would they? They could just engage someone more local. Your home location is your problem, not theirs.