• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cashing in on COBOL

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by darmstadt View Post
    Practically everything you can do on another system, server wise, you can do on a mainframe.
    Quick, someone tell Google.

Comment

Originally posted by pauldee View Post
      I assume these are good money? Is the rate going up? Also, I assume these are all in London?
      Mainly in the North East has been my experience. However, the rates were rubbish. I worked as a COBOL programmer on those systems back in 1986 and probably 90% of those I worked with have now retired. Just waiting for them to come back with a decent rate.
      Blood in your poo

Comment

Originally posted by SeanT View Post
        Quick, someone tell Google.
        Operationally there is no difference between a server (even a virtualised one on a large blade host) and a proper SMMP-capable mainframe. In many ways, modern client/server solutions are simply re-using the old mainframe/dumb terminal solution with better graphics.

The advantage of the modern approach is you can add CPU power a hell of a lot more cheaply.
        Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by pauldee View Post
          Well, none of this is convincing me to make the leap! I just hope all the COBOL based companies do their migrations before all the old school COBOL devs retire.

Looks like I'm going to have to stick with all the cutting edge stuff.