• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

howto become agency/consultant company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

howto become agency/consultant company

Hi Friends,

I am an IT contractor working through my limited company. My contracts are generally around London. I often work with banks.

I want to go one step further than self-employed contracting. I would like to hire a colleague and get slightly bigger projects. After years, I am hoping to convert my limited company to a consultancy company with employees.

My question is how can I do it? What is the next step?
    Hiring employees without securing a contract doesn't seem reasonable.

What type of companies/people should I get in touch and talk about this?
    I would like to offer shares to people I am working/partnering with.

What effort that I can spend now, so I can take advantage later?
    Ex. Is getting ISO27001 or GDPR certifications for my company good idea?

Originally posted by phoenix32 View Post
    this is going to be the crux of the issue isnt it.
    you can always subcontract work once you have found it.

but you have to find it first.

this isn't a new idea, it comes up on the forums on a regular basis.

Comment

It’s been asked quite a few times if you look through the history. There are many ways to do it and most of the time it fails.

Getting ISO27001 or GDPR certs should be the least of your concern.

Comment

Originally posted by Cid View Post
        this is going to be the crux of the issue isnt it.