• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hiring a lone trader

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hiring a lone trader

I'm a contract software developer that works through a Ltd company. A client that I'd worked for previously recently asked if I would be interested in some more work. I looked into it then explained that I wasn't particularly experienced with the toolset required. He thanked me for the advice and asked if I could hire someone that could do the job. I have now found developer that's a great fit and the client would like to proceed - expected duration for the work is approximately two months. My only concern is that the developer is a sole trader - he doesn't not have a Ltd Company and he's not VAT registered. Does this make any difference? Should I simply ask the developer to send me a weekly invoice? Should I issue a contract to the developer?

How much are you making out of this? It would have to be a good chunk to make it worth my while.

Can't you just put him straight on to the client and get some good will or a finders fee and then wash your hands of it?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

If you engage a sole trader, it means he is personally liable if something goes wrong, rather than his company. That means in the event of a liability issue your company has a little more protection -- he couldn't just have his company go bankrupt and solve his problem and stick your company. In many cases, liability isn't really likely to be an issue.