• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Conflicting IR35 status determinations

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Conflicting IR35 status determinations

Hi,

After the announcement on the delay of the IR35 changes, I’m left in a bit of a pickle. I’m pretty new to contracting (started Q3 last year). I’d say I was pretty diligent when it came to choosing my status, I did a lot of research and ended up paying for a full contract and working practices assessment from QDOS. They recommended I go inside, mainly due to right of substitution. I answered all of the questions as honestly as I could. I knew that a lot of people in similar roles were operating outside but I just went with the advice and moved on.

Fast forward to this year and my client determined my role to be outside of IR35. They worked alongside QDOS and we filled in a working practices review which was approved by my client to be accurate and my status determination was finalised and approved. I literally copied and pasted my answers from my previous QDOS review, so I know I was consistent.

The question is what do I do now? The amount of money I’ll lose by staying inside for the remainder is quite substantial, but that determination is now my responsibility and I can’t get insurance because of the lack of right of substitution . I’m happy to pay the tax I owe but I don’t want to overpay, especially when I’ve been told I should be outside by my client and so many others are outside.