• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is there any point in retraining?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is there any point in retraining?

I am a 48yo contractor and my background is on IBM Mainframes. However the number of jobs in this area have almost dried up and the jobs now are for Java, SQL, .NET etc but I have none of these skills. I am aware that "age discrimination" exists in the IT industry and that most companies want young graduates in their 20's with 2-5 years experience. I have worked as a contractor in IT departments where the average age is about 28 and the Managers are all in their 30's.

Am I too old to start retraining in another programming language and competing against Graduates trying to get work experience in that area, not to mention starting on a salary of £20k.

I would appreciate some opinions / advice.
    Last edited by Pirate; 12 February 2010, 14:07.

Originally posted by Pirate View Post
    I am a 48yo contractor and my background is on IBM Mainframes. However the number of jobs in this area have almost dried up and the jobs now are for Java, SQL, .NET etc but I have none of these skills. I am aware that "age discrimination" exists in the IT industry and that most companies want young graduates in their 20's with 2-5 years experience. I have worked as a contractor in IT departments where the average age is about 28 and the Managers are all in their 30's.