• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Extension - Notice Period

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extension - Notice Period

I've been working in the same contract for 3 years (one year with two further extensions) and have now been offered a new contract elsewhere. My current contract is due to expire on 21st December (week and a half away) and the new one is to start on Jan 4th. This has come around at the last minute and is a very attractive offer but I have been offered a further extension on my existing contract (which I have neither accepted or rejected as yet). My contract currently states a month notice period but I'm not sure if this counts at the end of my contract. If I just tell my current employer I won't be extending at such short notice, can they block my next job? Or am I free to just inform them and then leave. I feel bad on a personal principle level, but I wasn't expecting such a good offer and I don't want to miss it, but I'd like to know where I stand legally/contractually.

Originally posted by oppenheimer07 View Post