• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract? What Contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract? What Contract?

Hi,

I’m in a contract that’s due to complete at the end of August.

I’m an independent contractor (Ltd Co) placed with the client by a company acting as a ‘body-shop’ (that is, they also supply their own permie staff to work at the client’s site) rather than a traditional agency.

So far, all is going well. I’ve got work coming out of my ying-yang with a work plan that extends well into 2015. The client seems to like me, the bodyshop seem to like me and always pay up on time.

Happy days.

Spoke with my point of contact at the bodyshop today. He says that they are raising a Purchase Order to extend my contract for a few months but said that he can’t give a firm extension date.

When I asked him how he could raise a new contract without a firm date, he said “usually we don’t bother, we just continue with rolling extensions. But if you want one we’ll get it sorted.”

This got me thinking… So far I’m happy with the rate and other Ts&Cs so nothing really needs to be amended and unless I Foul things up I'm as confident as any contractor can be that work will continue to be forthcoming.

My question for the forum is:

What are the implications for me if I don’t get a new contract but continue with the terms and conditions of the original (but out of date) version?

Are there any IR35 issues likely to arise from not having a renewal?

Any advice gratefully received.