• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is it possible to sue HMRC?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it possible to sue HMRC?

Hi all,

Here's an idea I have been thinking, so I do apologise for the below which can be wrong etc.

I am not a lawyer, but I had done 2 commercial law papers back in uni. One principle I've remembered from those courses was the "duty of care" in the common law. In the perspective of "tax avoidance schemes" where HMRC is contesting the legality of it, would it be fair to say the followings:
    1. If the schemes were illegal and where the schemes had been isused DOTAS numbers, doesn't HMRC owes us a duty of care to investigate the legality of those schemes at the FIRST place before the numbers were issued?
    2. Park the first point aside, most of us had done our tax returns of which we had clearly stated the DOTAS number, again shouldn't HMRC have the duty of care to notify us about the legality of those schemes in a more timely manner? (I would expand the argument of timely further below)
    3. Due to the effect (I am sure most of us agrees here) with the lack of action from HRMC to STOP the schemes being marketed to us (maybe even with the FCA); don't they have a duty of care to look after the public where we are blindingly committed a crime? Which they said we have commit.