• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Trust help line email help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by webberg View Post
    I've said it before but I'll say it again.

Settling the tax liability does NOT mean that the loans are unenforceable.

Further, a loan agreement is usually governed by contract law and the rights and obligations of the parties are subject to the same law.

I'm not a lawyer but from what I've learnt from speaking with a number of firms, is that you have to deal with the legal facts in the agreement and that assumptions as to the source and purpose of the funds in the hands of the lenders are usually to be disregarded.

In other words, you may regard the money as "yours" that has been recycled via a lender, but a Court will not.

A Court is unlikely to ask where or how or in what capacity or by what route a lender had funds. A Court will start from "lender had funds that it agreed to lend".

Harsh as it seems, as soon as you start using phrases such as "effectively it was my money already" or "essentially it was earnings", you know you have strayed into territory that a Court will disregard in determining the rights and obligations of lenders and borrowers.

That is not to say that there are not defences against repayment claims, simply that recharacterising the transaction as something a Court says it is not or is unable to contemplate because of contract law, is not a valid defensive strategy.