• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Java Web Services

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Java Web Services

Any of you people familiar with Web Services?

I'm a Java developer, familiar with most common J2EE frameworks (struts/spring etc) but Web Services is something I've managed to avoid until now. However almost all job specs seem to list it thesedays, and my current client is considering using it soon. I've been looking at the Apache Axis project, and have spent some time going through the user guide. I understand the basics, but need some pointers as to it's practical use.

1) What would common uses for web services be in a typical J2EE app?

2) Does it enable functionality that couldn't otherwise be achieved, or is it just that it offers a more efficient and configurable solution?

3) I've done some samples as mentioned above, but am struggling to see how that would be incorporated into one of my web apps. Is the idea that you call the service using an http request, and obtain a response? Or are you passing full java objects to the service? All the samples are command line based, with output to the console. I imagined that you would call the service via an http request and receive the response on the webpage. Or can it be form based?

Ok, that's not really a proper question - but you see my point, I'm just trying to understand its use in the real world. I should probably head to the appropriate forum, but thought I might get a "not too techy" response here!