• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

newbie starting out with questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie starting out with questions

I am in a permenant job at the moment.
    My plans are to set up my limited company in advance of finding my first contract.
    I also want to get the Flat Rate VAT Schema registration sorted before contracting.
    Being a newbie, I have some questions:

Q1:I am going to need an accountant. However do I need to appoint an accountant as soon as my company formation is complete? or can it wait until I start my contract?
    I'm planning to do the company formation without an accountant. I'm hoping its not rocket science.

Q2:My wife is currently unemployed and looking after our newborn. She is planning to find a job around June 2012. In the meantime I was planning on making my wife a shareholder in my company or should I make her the secretary and pay her a small salary? Or can I do BOTH?

Q3: Would there be any implications if my wife started working for someone else in 2012 and continued to receive dividends from my company? would she have to do a self assessment each year?

Q4:My mother is also not working. Is it possible that I can make her a shareholder too? Is having more than 2 shareholders in the company better when splitting dividends.

Q5:Is it absolutely neccessary to get PI insurance when contracting? Do agents normally ask for this?

Q6: Is their any advantage in forming the company in joint names? (myself and my wife)

Q7o I need to get employers insurance?