• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moved from Umbrella to Ltd

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moved from Umbrella to Ltd

Hi there.

Now I'm a bit of a noob (so go easy on me)
    I've been contracting for many years now. I always used an Umbrella Company (Parasol)
    But after securing my new contract in a local government, I decided to take the plunge and go Ltd.
    Now I know ClearSky are a bit pricey, but I decided to go with them as Parasol had always been helpful.
    I was going to go for their Essential package (£95) but the lady talked me into going for the Freedom Package (£120)

[Mod snipped the Freedom bumpf - if anyone uses it they know what you're talking about.]

I'm just wondering if any one else has made the jump from Umbrella to Ltd and can give me some tips on "what to expect" and "what not to do"

Originally posted by CloudWalker View Post
    I'm just wondering if any one else has made the jump from Umbrella to Ltd and can give me some tips on "what to expect" and "what not to do"
    Linky

HTH
    Best Forum Advisor 2014
    Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
    Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Tip 1: Speak to your accountant
      Tip 2: Read their bumpf cover to cover
      Tip 3: Do some research on expenses
      Tip 4: Do some research on your legal responsibilities as a director
      Tip 5: If you don't understand anything go to Tip 1.
      Tip 7: Find a way to learn basic company finance and numbers.